My heart wrung itself today,

A song belted out a cry-

I knew the metal of it was my strength,

adamantium my reply.

Strongest stuff in the earth,

I will never fall, I recite;

(affirmations stated through numb lips)

even as it crumbled with my fight.

Brain fumbled for solid thought,

focus inside, draw from this strength-

that soon crumpled to a useless ball,

lost its width and length.

Thought it would be glorious,

like azalea’s blossoming petal;

guess that’s what you end up with

when you trust in pretend metal.

 

 

(2 Corinthians 12:9)

Leave a Reply

