When I left my parents house at the fresh-faced age of 20, I had little to no cooking experience.  My mom purchased pantry staples for me in my first place.  Sadly, I ended up throwing out the flour awhile later due to a weevil infestation, and the baking powder, baking soda, etc.  sat, unopened.  I just didn’t know how to use any of it.  We didn’t have internet and it’s wealth of recipes, and I don’t believe I had any cookbooks at the time.

I’m still just an ok level of cooking skill, but there are little things I picked up that can make cooking easier, and taste better.

 

  1. Baking soda is what you use on a grease fire.  I had a grease fire start when I was cooking chicken.  I struggled to remember from cooking class my freshman year of high school what you were supposed to use to put it out.  Panicking, I poured flour on it.  This made the grease splatter onto the counter, and some flour.  The flour in the pan caught on fire.  The flour on the cupboard mixed with grease flamed suddenly. Not a good scenario.
  2. This is probably an obvious one, but make sure if you have your spices and seasonings in a clear plastic container (Yeah,  it probably had BPA, I didn’t know any better) LABEL THEM.  My husband loves sweet tea.  One late night, I made him some.  The next day, he poured some into a cup and started to try to down it.  He abruptly stopped, and his eyes had an expression I couldn’t read.  He  asked me to try it.  I took a sip, and the dead sea greeted my taste buds.  I had used salt instead of sugar!  When I had poured it in, I noticed the tea became cloudy when I put what I thought was sugar in, but my frazzled mind didn’t ponder this like it should have.
  3.  It’s normally a good idea to chop your food smaller before cooking it.  In things like pasta salads, tuna salads, soups, or any recipe requiring more ingredients, this makes a big difference.  You don’t have to mince  everything, but the flavors blend so much better when they are smaller and mixed thoroughly.
  4. Tying  into number 3, so many cold dishes peak in flavor when you  refrigerate them for several hours, so give yourself several hours of prep-time to make them.
  5. Logic would tell you if you turn up your burner to high, your meat cooks quicker, right?  Wrong.  If you try to do this because you are running late, you get drumsticks and other meat with a burnt outside and raw inside.  Salmonella and ash taste, serve it up!
  6. Soups and sauces taste better when they simmer awhile.  For cost purposes, we get the really cheap tomato sauce.  My mother-in-law recommended to just put in some basil and garlic, and let it simmer awhile.  Worked wonderfully!
  7. A lot of times, the best recipes have less ingredients.  If you look at skilled cooks on WordPress, it seems like there is a plethora of fewer, fresh ingredients.

I know it’s not he longest list, but hope these tips help you guys.

Have a great day!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

