few words-uncountable colours

I captured this beauty before I left Jamaica and I was wondering what kind of caterpillar it should be. My mother in-law had a lot of them on her plants in front of her house and she literally had to collect them and transfer to the back yard where they won’t eat up the nice plants she is keeping in the front yard.

I thought it is a black-yellow butterfly, which is very common in Jamaica, but after I did some research, I realized it is a moth.

Pseudosphinx tetrio is a species of moth in the family Sphingidae. Its common names include tetrio sphinx, giant gray sphinxfrangipani hornworm, and plumeria caterpillar. It is native to the tropical and subtropical Americas from the southern and southwestern United States to Brazil.

(source: Wikipedia.org)

Pseudosphinx tetrio - caterpillar Pseudosphinx tetrio – caterpillar

Pseudosphinx tetrio - caterpillar Pseudosphinx tetrio – caterpillar

View original post

Leave a Reply

